JohnnyGK

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Favorite Golfer:
    GK'ers
Favorite Golf Course:
    Cascata

RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Thursday February 22, 2018 6:03 AM
GK'er Shebylo sent this link to me, found it interesting!

Your Thoughts?

World Handicap System Announced
GK FACEBOOK - Please check it out - CLICK HERE - I'm doing fun posts all the time.
 Message #87212
Alex326
RE: World Handicap System - Thoughts

Favorite Golfer:
    N/A
Favorite Golf Course:
    Pebble Beach

Thursday February 22, 2018 7:11 AM
Since you brought it up..... I know I'm new to this sport and probably have a different take on the handicap system. Before I get sidetracked with my view of the handicap system in general I'll comment on the new world system. I think it only effects a very very small percentage of golfers who compete worldwide and the differences between all the systems was minimal so it's not that big of a deal.

However, when I competed overseas cycling, everyone had to have a UCI racing license so that everyone followed the same rules. And even that was more about doping control and restrictions (thank goodness they lifted the restriction on caffeine).

Now then, back to the handicap system in general. It seems odd to me that everyone is deemed equal during a tournament. I just don't understand why someone who plays 6 times a year (drunk and stoned) should be "equal" to someone who has been playing 30 years, practices twice a week and plays every week while taking lessons from a PGA professional once a month.

I trained 6 days a week on the bike. Race officials didn't give some smuck who uses his bike for beer runs a 30 minute head start! There were separate races/classes for beginners and novices so that they could compete against each other for motivation as they moved up the ranks. But certainly beginners were NOT given a handicap or time bonus to compete with experts and elites.