jrspade
Golf Clubs

Favorite Golfer:
    Tiger Woods
Favorite Golf Course:
    Bobby Jones

RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Wednesday June 12, 2019 5:33 AM
I have been playing golf my whole life but now that I have gotten older I am playing regularly and taking it more seriously. So, in that sense I am rather new to the equipment side as I have always played with entry level sets and hand me down clubs. I was wondering where do you guys buy your clubs for the best deals? The big box stores I am assuming are too expensive and a rip off? I have been going to a local shop that sells used clubs and it is very reasonable but the 3W I bought there just broke (punching out of some tall rough) after only about 25 rounds. Looking for any advice anyone can give. I don't want to spend and arm and a leg but slowly upgrade my clubs. I don't care if they match. Unless it is better to go all in and buy a complete set?
 Message #91571
3-4bravo
RE: Golf Clubs

Favorite Golfer:
    Tiger Woods
Favorite Golf Course:
    Hunter Ranch

Wednesday June 12, 2019 7:21 AM
First things first go get fitted somewhere. If you're going to spend the money on a new set you might as well test drive a couple first. You can even go to a local Dick's and swing some clubs there to see what fits your swing/what you like. I know Golf Tec charges $95 bucks and they also offer a trade in value for your current set. It isn't much, but it helps. Once you find a set that fits you, ask around your local muni to see if they can get you a deal. Most of the time, if you find a cool pro/manager, they'll hook you up with a price. Golf courses don't make their money on selling clubs like Dick's or anything so they're more willing to work with prices rather than the big chain stores. Good luck, and I hope you find a great deal!

Some good and cheap irons to look at are Cobra, TaylorMade, and Callaway.
 Message #91572 - This was a reply to message #91571
Deepsea14

Favorite Golfer: