Click To View Golf Course Page

Discussions in General Golf Discussions
Moderated By CPennbo, JohnnyGK, kviser, Paisano, ringworld, thingstodo

Forums
Golfing
General Golf Discussions
Breakfast balls
YOUR SETTINGSLIST FORUMSLIST TOPICSSEARCH

TOPIC: Breakfast balls

PRINT TOPICSEND THIS TO A FRIEND

Listing 1 to 10 of 15 Replies

PAGES: 2 1 2
roarksown1
Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    January 6, 2013


Favorite Golfer:
    Whoever's with me playing
Favorite Golf Course:
    Bighorn Golf Club


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday April 24, 2018 7:59 AM
I don't generally play breakfast balls whatsoever but had a situation come up the other day and wanted to know people's general consensus. If you hit a poor opening shot, maybe even lost, and then decide to hit a breakfast ball (only on the first tee of course does all this apply), are you required to play the second shot if it's worse off than the first? If you find that first ball is actually in a better spot, can you play it instead?
REPLY
 Message #87966
mpisarski01
RE: Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    February 11, 2012


Favorite Golfer:
    John Daly
Favorite Golf Course:
    Wolf Creek


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday April 24, 2018 8:20 AM
Seeings how its not a rule Ive always played the better of the two and all of my friends normally agree. Although if you have time to hit on the range Breakfast balls do not apply because you suck haha.
REPLY
 Message #87967 - This was a reply to message #87966
AndrewZ28
RE: Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    February 22, 2012


Favorite Golfer:
    Ben Hogan
Favorite Golf Course:
    La Purisima


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday April 24, 2018 9:25 AM
Unless it's in a tournament do whatever you want. Golf is hard, cut yourself some slack and have fun
REPLY
 Message #87969 - This was a reply to message #87967
sngernz
RE: Breakfast balls

GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    January 24, 2005


Favorite Golfer:
    Bubba!
Favorite Golf Course:
    Spyglass Hill


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday April 24, 2018 10:44 AM
During a casual (non-competitive) round of golf, I'll justify the breakfast ball ONLY if I did not hit the range before teeing off. My thought is: 'I will cancel the first round and start a new one', and leave it at that. It also depends on who I'm playing with that day and what's on the line (as there usually is). In your situation, it doesn't matter. Play whichever one you want but, like you said, it only applies for the first tee.

That said, after the B-ball is played, you still play by the Rules if you are maintaining a handicap and posting.
REPLY
 Message #87972 - This was a reply to message #87969
roarksown1
RE: Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    January 6, 2013


Favorite Golfer:
    Whoever's with me playing
Favorite Golf Course:
    Bighorn Golf Club


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday April 24, 2018 5:41 PM
QUOTED  That said, after the B-ball is played, you still play by the Rules if you are maintaining a handicap and posting.


That's a definite! And yes, ended up playing the first ball anyway so the round was intact in terms of handicap. And again, I think that's the first breakfast ball I've played in two years. I just accept my fate. But this did feel like a 'casual' round.
REPLY
 Message #87984 - This was a reply to message #87972
Nickesquire
RE: Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    August 11, 2007


Favorite Golfer:
    Jack, Freddie, Tiger
Favorite Golf Course:
    Maderas Olivas Classic Cl


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Tuesday April 24, 2018 8:21 PM
My dad's group was my first exposure to golf back in the 1970's. None of them ever hit the range before the round. They ALL played 2 balls off the first tee, play the better of the two and then play regular golf from there on out. Seemed like a reasonable concession to not having any warm-up, and their only competition was within their own group, so it was fair/equitable to everyone.
REPLY
The goal is long and straight! But on the many times I cannot seem to hit them straight, I at least want to hit them long!
 Message #87985 - This was a reply to message #87984
Andrew1
RE: Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    July 23, 2007


Favorite Golfer:
    Ben Hogan
Favorite Golf Course:
    PGA West, Nicklaus Tourna


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Wednesday April 25, 2018 6:49 AM
I agree that if you had time to Warm Up its no not called a breakfast ball but a "unplayable" 1 shot penalty. Besides all this should be discussed before all of you reach the first tee box. But I'm a firm believer that if you did NOT have a chance to Warm UP than yes be my guest but I also say, if you don't like the first drive, You MUST take the 2nd, no choosing.
REPLY
 Message #87986 - This was a reply to message #87972
colby022002
RE: Breakfast balls
Member Since:
    July 10, 2015


Favorite Golfer:
    Jordan Spieth
Favorite Golf Course:
    Sand Hollow -Championship


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Wednesday April 25, 2018 8:14 AM
There are different approaches to the "Breakfast ball" or what we call "Two off One." If you opt to hit a second ball you have to play your second shot. That is how we always have played it. If you hit a good first ball there shouldnt be a need for a "second" breakfast ball. If you shank it or slice or hook it then yes tee a second up and play the second wherever it lands. This is the fair and correct way to play "Two off one."
REPLY
 Message #87987 - This was a reply to message #87966
kviser
RE: Breakfast balls

SoCal Community Staff

GK Event: Played in a GK Event LA-GK-Meetup-Winner: LA GK Meetup Winner

Member Since:
    February 4, 2005


Favorite Golfer:
    Fred Couples
Favorite Golf Course:
    River Ridge


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Thursday April 26, 2018 8:25 AM
QUOTED  "Two off one."

LOL, I usually call it "Hitting three."

Just to keep things even for myself, I count all my strokes, penalties and all.

I'm cool if anyone else plays a breakfast ball. It's their score.

For me, I figure that I already know how to hit a ball and if I screw it up I will just take the score I shot.

I'm not good enough to worry about my total score anyway.

QUOTED  Unless it's in a tournament do whatever you want. Golf is hard, cut yourself some slack and have fun

That's good advice from AndrewZ28!
REPLY
 Message #88000 - This was a reply to message #87987
Rat-Patrol
RE: Breakfast balls
GK Event: Played in a GK Event

Member Since:
    April 20, 2013


Favorite Golfer:
    My Grandpa was
Favorite Golf Course:
    Balboa Park GC


RPGC MAIL USER VIEW USER REGISTRY ADD USER TO BUDDY LIST
Thursday April 26, 2018 9:41 AM
There are only three things that can come from hitting a second ball (for those who are playing a game and possess a conscience):
1. You do the same thing which makes you mad
2. You do something worse which makes you mad or
3. You do exactly what you were trying to do in the first place which makes you even madder

Tee the ball, hit the ball until goes in the hole and play by the rules . . . it's not a game if you don't play by the rules (it's just trying to play "I win!")
REPLY
 Message #88001 - This was a reply to message #88000

Listing 1 to 10 of 15 Replies

PAGES: 2 1 2

[ Community Page ]